In 1903, Murry Guggenheim acquired a property at the Jersey Shore formally owned by Norman L. Munro. The estate that once stood in the shadow of the still standing Guggenheim Mansion was named, Normanhurst. Construction on the symmetrical summer cottage began in 1903 and was completed by 1905 by Carrere and Hastings architectural firm.
The estate functioned as a summer cottage for Murry, Leonie, and their two children Edmund and Lucille. There are two curved corridors lined with arched openings on the south side of the cottage. Nestled between the halls is a courtyard that was once meticulously landscaped with hedges and various flowers.
For the full history and more photos on Norwood Park, visit the page below
Written and Photographed by Matthew J. Niewenhous
Pingback: The Guggenheim Mansion- West Long Branch, New Jersey | The Gilded Butler
Pingback: Throwback Post: Guggenheim Mansion | The Gilded Butler
Pingback: Exposing the Davis Cup Myth: The Man, the Cup, and the Biggest Lie in Tennis History | Sport in American History
Pingback: Exposing the Davis Cup Myth: The Man, the Cup, and the Biggest Lie in Tennis History | History on the mysteryStream